Subscribe to our

Search this site

WIPP National Partner Alison Gutterman honored at AFHU's Leaders of Distinction Award Dinner

WIPP National Partner Alison Gutterman honored at AFHU's Leaders of Distinction Award Dinner

October 18, 2012


Chicago Community Leaders Alison Gutterman, Frances H. Krasnow and Mary Ann Tuft to be Honored by American Friends of The Hebrew University

Hadassah Lieberman, Ambassador to Susan G. Komen for the Cure Breast Cancer Initiative, to be Keynote Speaker at Leaders of Distinction Award Dinner on October 18that the Standard Club

Chicago—Alison Gutterman, president of Jelmar LLC, Frances H. Krasnow, a principal of Fischel & Kahn Ltd., and Mary Ann Tuft, president of Tuft & Associates, Inc., will receive the Leaders of Distinction Award from American Friends of The Hebrew University (AFHU) on October 18, 2012, at the Standard Club in Chicago. The evening's keynote will be delivered by Hadassah Lieberman, wife of Senator Joseph Lieberman, who has worked to advance women's health globally and recently joined Susan G. Komen for the Cure, the world's largest network of breast cancer survivors and activists. Proceeds from the dinner, which is open to the public, will benefit scholarships at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

The Leaders of Distinction Award is presented by AFHU to leaders and humanitarians who have made a positive impact locally, nationally and internationally, often on behalf of the State of Israel and The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel's leading educational and research institution. The award was established in 2009 in order to recognize individuals known for their professional achievements, humanitarian commitment and concern for Israel and Jewish communities worldwide.

Alison Gutterman is the president of Jelmar LLC, a Skokie, IL-based family-owned cleaning products manufacturer in business for more than 60 years. She earned her Bachelor's degree in speech communication from Syracuse University and her MBA from the Kellogg School of Business at Northwestern University. She received the Illinois 2012 Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Small Business of the Year Award. She also received the 2012 Enterprising Woman of the Year Award byEnterprising Womenmagazine.

Frances H. Krasnow is a principal of Fischel & Kahn Ltd. and has been practicing law for more than 30 years. She received her Bachelor's degree at the University of Michigan and her JD from Northwestern University School of Law. With a strong background in civil litigation, Fran has expertise in all aspects of complex family law and she is a frequent lecturer on this topic. Franhas received many peer-rated honors, including selection to Best Lawyers in America; Illinois Super Lawyers; and the Leading Lawyers' Network. Fran is very active in the Chicago community, serving on a number of boards, and she was honored by the ADL as a Woman of Achievement.

Mary Ann Tuft received an Honorary Fellowship from The Hebrew University of Jerusalem in June 2012, and has been an AFHU leader and supporter of The Hebrew University for more than 20 years, serving on AFHU's Board of Directors. President of Tuft & Associates, Inc., an executive search firm that she established in 1988, she previously served as chief staff officer at the Radiological Society of North America and the National Student Nurses Association.

Mary Ann Tuft has a Bachelor of Science degree from West Chester State College and a Master of Science degree in Education from Lehigh University. She has been honored by the New York Society of Association Executives and by the National Student Nurses Association. At the October 18thLeaders of Distinction dinner, Mary Ann Tuft, a member of the Midwest Board, will receive a Lifetime Achievement Awardfrom AFHU in recognition of her dedication to The Hebrew University of Jerusalem and its School of Nursing.

Daniel Schlessinger, president of AFHU's Midwest Region, stated: "Alison, Frances and Mary Ann are all united in their commitment to community service and leadership, their belief in youth empowerment and higher education and their belief that scholarship support is essential in developing future leaders. We are thrilled to recognize these award-winning leaders.”

The Leaders of Distinction Dinner, which is co-chaired by Arnee Eisenberg, Seth Pines and Leona Z. Rosenberg, will begin at 5:30 pm for cocktails at the Standard Club, followed by dinner at 6:30 pm. Dietary laws observed. For further information, contact Judith Shenkman, AFHU Executive Director, at 312-329-0332 or To make a reservation online, go to click here

Copyright 2008 - 2014 AFHU|Privacy Policy|Sitemap

footer youtube facebook twitter